I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 3

Introduced by:

Mark Forbes

J. M.S. Brown

Edward J.B. Calvo

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

L. F. Kasperbauer

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

Ray Tenorio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Guam Contractors Association upon its celebration of its Forty-Fifth (45th) Anniversary.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Guam Contractors Association ("GCA") was
- 4 incorporated on November 5, 1959; and
- 5 **WHEREAS**, the GCA was founded by Mr. J. T. Cook, Mr. T. H. Odell,
- 6 Mr. Frank D. Perez, Mr. D. S. Lennox, Mr. E. C. Forslund, Mr. John E. Russel
- 7 and Mr. Hugh M. Mize; and

1 WHEREAS, the GCA provides representation for contractors and 2 construction-related businesses, and promotes a strict adherence to an ever 3 higher standard of construction, quality workmanship and safety; and 4 WHEREAS, the membership at the GCA has grown from the original seven (7) members to two hundred fifty-five (255) members; and 5 6 WHEREAS, in 1962, the GCA initiated an Apprentice Training Program 7 to educate people on Guam; and 8 WHEREAS, the current program is now co-sponsored by the Guam 9 Community College; and WHEREAS, in a 1979 landmark case, the GCA assisted in delaying the 10 11 implementation of the Federally-mandated "adverse-effect" wage rate on 12 Guam; and WHEREAS, Standing Committees have been established in the areas of 13 Professional and Community Affairs; Education and Training; Government 14 15 Affairs and Labor; and in Safety; and 16 WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the GCA are: President, Ms. 17 Karen M. Storts of Reaction Company; Vice-President, Mr. Tom Anderson of Black Construction Corporation; Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. Jere Johnson of 18 19 Hawaiian Rock Products; its Directors include: Mr. John Robertson of 20 AmOrient Contracting; Mr. Bill Beery of J. A. Jones Management Systems, 21 Inc.; Mr. Robert Salas of Landscape Management Systems, Inc.; Mr. Miguel 22 Rangel of Maeda Pacific Corporation; Mr. Tom Perez of Perez Bros., Inc.; and 23 Mr. Steve Radonich of Smithbridge, Guam; and its Associate Directors are:

Mr. Adam Baron of Cassidy's Associated Insurers, Inc.; Mr. Frank Flores of

24

- 1 Morrico Equipment, LLC; Mr. Paul Blas of Seabridge, Inc.; and Mr. Allan
- 2 Turner of Taniguchi-Ruth Architects; and
- 3 WHEREAS, the Executive Director of the Association is Mr. James
- 4 Martinez; and its assistants are Ms. Annmarie Pelobello, Office Manager, and
- 5 Ms. Joleen Meno, Administrative Assistant; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the GCA joined the Associated Builders and Contractors in
- 7 1994, thereby gaining the expertise of a national network of contractors, as
- 8 well as receiving recognition from that group for members' Excellence in
- 9 Construction Award winning projects and Safety Training Evaluation
- 10 Programs; and
- 11 WHEREAS, since 1996, GCA has sponsored the Island-Wide Safety
- 12 Conference every year to promote better awareness of OSHA regulations and
- 13 employee safety in both construction and general industry; and
- 14 WHEREAS, GCA members provided monetary, labor, and equipment
- 15 contributions to assist in typhoon recovery after Typhoons Paka, Chata'an and
- 16 Pongsona; and
- WHEREAS, goals for the Association are to increase legislative support
- 18 for its members, educate members on major issues, and provide networking
- 19 tools for members of the same industry to exchange ideas; now, therefore, be
- 20 it
- 21 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na
- 22 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 23 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Guam Contractors

1 Association on the occasion of its Forty-Fifth (45th) Anniversary; and be it

2 further

3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive

4 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

5 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Karen M.

6 Storts, President, Guam Contractors Association; to Mr. Tom Anderson, Vice-

7 President, Guam Contractors Association; to Mr. Jere Johnson, Secretary-

8 Treasurer, Guam Contractors Association; to the Directors of the Guam

9 Contractors Association: Mr. John Robertson, Mr. Bill Beery, Mr. Robert Salas,

10 Mr. Miguel Rangel, Mr. Tom Perez and Mr. Steve Radonich; to the Associate

11 Directors of the Guam Contractors Association: Mr. Adam Baron, Mr. Frank

12 Flores, Mr. Paul Blas and Mr. Allan Turner; to Mr. James Martinez, Executive

13 Director, Guam Contractors Association; to Ms. Annmarie Pelobello, Office

14 Manager, Guam Contractors Association; to Ms. Joleen Meno, Administrative

15 Assistant, Guam Contractors Association; and to the Honorable Felix P.

16 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 13TH DAY OF JANUARY 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and Chairman,

Executive Committee

JOANNE M.S. BROWN

Vice Speaker and

Acting Secretary of the Legislature